The European Award AHI Incorporates The “New European Bauhaus” Special Mention into its Sixth Edition

AHI announces a new special mention. Please also mind the Exterior Spaces Category of this heritage prize, relevant to landscape architects

AHI announces a new special mention. Please also mind the Exterior Spaces Category of this heritage prize, relevant to landscape architects:

A new Special Mention dedicated to emphasizing the ideas of sustainability, beauty, and inclusion defended and advocated by the New European Bauhaus has been added in this sixth edition of the European Award AHI (Architectural Heritage Intervention). This new award derives from the competition’s synergies with the European Union, which established the initiative in 2020 with the goal of enhancing citizens’ lives by putting culture at the centre of European policies.

A new accolade has been added to the AHI (Architectural Heritage Intervention) European Award, which will be accessible for registration until March 17, 2023. In this sixth edition, in addition to the prizes awarded in the four existing categories: Built Heritage, Exterior Spaces, Planning and Dissemination and the Special Mention for Restoration, the New European Bauhaus NEB Special Mention is presented, promoted by the European Green Pact signed in 2020 in the European Union.

This European Green Pact aims to connect society with its living spaces, rethinking homes, neighbourhoods and cities. Consequently, the New European Bauhaus Special Mention will be given to the work presented that, in its approach to heritage, provides interventions that prioritize ideals such as sustainability, aesthetics, or inclusion.

Those responsible for awarding the New European Bauhaus (NEB) Special Mention will be the directors of the Award, the architects Ramon Calonge, Oriol Cusidó, Marc Manzano and Jordi Portal, together with the MEP Marcos Ros. Holding a PhD in Architecture from the Complutense University in Madrid, he is Professor of Urbanism at the Polytechnic University of Cartagena and, as a representative of the European Parliament, promoter of the New European Bauhaus program.


As for the jury of the Award, and as in previous editions, the panel comprises architects and professionals from the sector with substantial experience in the field of intervention in architectural heritage. Some members of this panel were former winners and finalists in the previous call for the AHI European Award 2021.

In the Built Heritage Category, the jury includes the architect Dikkie Scipio, a partner in the Belgian architecture studio Kaan Architecten, winners in this category in the previous edition with the Royal Museum of Fine Arts (KMSKA), located in Antwerp. Kimmo Lintula, a partner of the Finnish architecture firm K2S Architects and professor at the Aalto University School of Art, Design and Architecture in Finland. Lastly, Susana Valbuena Rodriguez, founder in 2004 of the studio Rodríguez Valbuena Architects in León (Spain), from where she works on projects connected to different disciplines related to urban planning, environment, building and intervention in architectural heritage.

The projects entered in the Exterior Spaces Category, will be evaluated by the architect Chris Rankin, a founding partner of the Scottish studio rankinfraser landscape architecture and professor at the University of Edinburgh, at Kingston University in London and at L’École nationale supérieure de paysage in Versailles. The architect and landscape designer Maria Viñé Landia, founding partner of the firm Neuland Architektur Landschaft Gmbh based in Zurich, whose recent works have featured the Rehabilitation of the Katzensee lido in Zurich or Among gardens in Winterthur. And the third member is the architect Pasqual Herrero Vincent from the architecture cooperative El Fabricante de Espheras in Valencia, authors of the Plaza de la Sinagoga, which won this category in the previous edition.

In the Urban Planning category, the jury is made up of the Catalan Sara Bartumeus, landscape architect co-founder of the Renau Bartumeus studio and Associate Professor of Architecture at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign. The Italian architect Carlo Atzeni, Architectural Professor in DICAAR at the University of Cagliari (Sardinia). And the third member of the panel is the Italian Maria Chiara Tosi, professor of Urban Planning at the IUAV University of Venice, from where she also coordinates the research cluster CityLab.

Finally, in the Dissemination category, Devi Kituashvili, founder of the studio Mua Architecture & Placemaking based in Tbilisi (Georgia), will participate. Verena von Beckerath, the German architect and co-founder of the firm Heide & von Beckerath, winner of the Award in 2021 in this category with her project “Two Houses”. The third member of the jury is the Swiss architect Nicola Regusci, co-founder of The Cities Connection Project (CCP), an initiative that aims to connect cities with their architecture.

To select the Special Mention for Restoration, together with the directors of the Award, Ramon Calonge, Oriol Cusidó, Marc Manzano and Jordi Portal, the architect Pedro Rodriguez Cantalapiedra, Special Mention for Restoration ex-aequo in 2021 with his work Tower of the Church of Santa María Magdalena in Matapozuelos (Valladolid) will also participate.

Architectural Heritage Intervention (AHI)

The AHI platform contributes to the revaluation of Architectural Heritage and includes a European-scale Award, an international Biennial, a digital Archive and, a debate Forum. AHI is committed to an active and continuous dissemination policy. AHI understands and disseminates architectural heritage from a plural and contemporary perspective.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AHI announces a new special mention. Please also mind the Exterior Spaces Category of this heritage prize, relevant to landscape architects

Published on March 9, 2023

Landezine Newsletter

Best of Landscape Architecture in Your Mailbox
Twice per month!